Just under three weeks left…

In less than three weeks I will be having a complete hysterectomy. They will be also removing both ovaries and tubes. I want to make sure I write about my experience so it may benefit someone else one day.

This Thursday I have my Pre-op with the anesthesiologist and his nurse, as well as a chest X-ray and EKG. So far I found out from my doctor that will be doing the surgery, that it have to stop taking my muscle relaxer, baclofen, and ibuprofen or Aleve ten days before the surgery. The anesthesiologist may have other things I cannot take as well.

They will call me the Friday before my surgery and tell me what time to be there on that Monday for my surgery. The day before my surgery I am allowed a light breakfast followed by the entire day of a clear liquid diet and at 3pm I have to drink a bottle of magnesium citrate. I chose the purple flavored one and put it in the fridge, because it is better cold. Then around 9pm I have to give myself a fleet enema.

My blood and urine tests are in and I have immediate results because I set up for everything and my chart to be online where I can access it. All of those tests were normal or negative for things, except one was high for Lymph ABS. I have not had a call from the doctor so I assume all is ok with the one thing being not in normal range. I have had mono twice in my life as well as fifth disease that stayed with me for over four months. Those may be the cause or I could have some type if immune deficiency. I won’t know until I speak with the doctor in regards to this.

I went Friday to see my pain doctor who insisted I see him monthly until my surgery and he was not even there when I showed up for my appointment. His PA ended up sick and unable to see me so I called and scheduled to come back in August after my recovery from the surgery. I am not scheduling any appointments at all for the month of July so I don’t have to go anywhere while I recover, but I was told I will have to see my surgeon on week after my surgery. I was also told I will be staying two nights in the hospital.

I have started some lists. A list of the things I need to get done before surgery and a list of all the things everyone here needs to do while I recover for surgery. 6-8 weeks is the recovery time. I also made a list of things I need to bring with me to the hospital, like toothbrush and paste, loose nightgown and underwear, etc…………

Any possitive comments are welcome.

