Update on ME, Plus Info on Ovarian Cancer…

I have been in so much pain I feel like I am being constantly tortured. My medications are not really touching the pain and just riding in the vehicle to the doctors appointment causes intense pain. I feel like I am being crushed in my entire pelvis. My low back, hips, tailbone, butt and both legs! Ice cream headache like pains that go down both of my legs and both of my feet are numb yet hurt so bad and feel like icicles! This pain began only on the left lower side of my back and has slowly spread to cover both sides and legs and feet over the last two years. I could not even enjoy going out to eat with “B”, the pain became so bad I cried all the way home!

I am so done with not standing up for myself. I see my pain doctor today and I am demanding he do something that will help with this pain, before I find a permanent solution to it! I feel like I have been tortured for the last month non-stop!

Symptoms of Ovarian Cancer:

Swelling of the stomach, sudden weight gain or weight loss, bloating.
Persistent pelvic or abdominal pain or pressure, also can be back pain.
Trouble eating or feeling full quickly.
Feeling the need to urinate urgently or often.

Other Symptoms of Ovarian Cancer can include:

Feeling very tired all the time
Upset stomach or heartburn
Back pain
Pain during sex
Constipation
Unusual vaginal bleeding or changes in menstruation

These symptoms are common for some women, and may not mean there’s ovarian cancer. If, however, these symptoms are new and persist daily for more than two or three weeks, a woman should ask her physician about ovarian cancer. If there is suspicion of the disease, she should be referred to a gynecologic oncologist before undergoing surgery.

Last year I lost over 50 pounds without trying, I became full very quickly when eating and I feel nauseated often. I have the pain that started in the low back and has now spread to cover the entire pelvis region plus my legs and feet. Though I have circulation in my feet and my pulse is normal there, so there is blood flow. In the last 6 months I have had changes in my periods and pain during and after intercourse. I have become very constipated in the last couple of months along with bleeding when it is not my period. I have also had blood in my urine and wet my bed during sleep three times over the course of the last two years.

Next week I have a follow up ultrasound and the week after that I see the gynecologist oncologist again. We go over the ultrasound and the blood work that tested for tumor markers called CA-125. Then we decide which surgery I should have. I am having surgery for sure. I would assume it will be in June. Either removal of left ovary and tumor or a complete hysterectomy and debulking. I won’t know for sure if I have cancer until it is removed and tested. If it is cancer I then have to have chemotherapy as well.

I am scared, worried and stressed. Anyone would be, but most importantly, I am in way too much pain! I can only hope that I find some relief today when I see my pain doctor. I feel we need to be more aggressive right now. I need some major help with this pain and I need it for at least the next three months, to get me to surgery and through recovery. Then, after the three months, I feel we should evaluate where I am at and see if we can start to reduce the pain medications. Please pray for me! Pray I get some sort of pain relief today and pray for me to have a quick recovery from surgery………….

20140508-113955.jpg
This is the newest addition to our family, his name is Prometheus!

2 thoughts on “Update on ME, Plus Info on Ovarian Cancer…

  1. Grainne says:

    I’ve been so absent…. What you are experiencing…so terrifying. I’m so sorry my friend. Do demand some help with the pain you are in. If it is cancer you are going to have to fight (and I pray it’s not) you’ll need your strength.

    Take it one day at a time as much as possible. Xoxox. Hopefully the surgery will provide some immediate relief! I’ll be hoping for that outcome for you.

    Much love. Xo

Any possitive comments are welcome.

