Being in the NOW…….

What is our complete reality? The here and the Now! There is no past, no future, only what is here right this moment. Anxiety increases when I think of the past or the future. Both are no existent to right now. One has already occurred and the other has not. So what we have is only this very moment and then it is gone and we are in this very moment again. Dwelling on the past definitely effect us emotionally. Worrying about the future, definitely effects us emotionally. So how do you just live in the here and now? Well, you have to focus on what actual is right now. Right now I am typing a blog post. Right now, I am wiggling my feet. Right now, I am seeing all the things around me in this very room. Right now, is the only reality we know. Pay attention to everything right now! Learning to focus on the here and now is vital in feeling balanced emotionally. Of course, this is going to take work. We have spent our entire adult lives living in the past or the future. Children live in the here and now. The don’t think about yesterday and they are not worried about tomorrow. Animals also live in the here and now. They know that right now, they feel hungry, so they hunt for food. Or right now, they are tired so they lay down and sleep. Humans are the only species that live their lives through time. Time, tick tock goes the clock. Humans are always in a hurry or they feel they do not have enough time. Why? Time is always spinning on no matter what you do or say. You cannot control time. Though, you can learn to live a life without time being an issue.

We humans tend to constantly think of everything except the here and now. Appointments, plans, deadlines and past issues. The only thing that even really matters is right now. Life can change in a blink of an eye. You only have right this moment, nothing else is guaranteed. So, why don’t we live in the here and now, like we are supposed too? Time…… Time is the reason why. We either do not feel we have enough time or we feel we have too much time on our hands. Many years ago, I discovered, that time played a huge role in my panic disorder. I had to teach myself to not live life according to time. The world runs on time though and when you have an appointment to see your doctor you are forced to live with time. However, once I was able to just post my appointment in my schedule and learned to not think about it, I found my anxiety eased up greatly. After several months of working on removing time from my life, I was able to feel less anxiety and much less panic. You are not allowed to completely remove time from your life though. Due to appointments alone, you must live somewhat according to time. What I figure out, was that I could not worry about an appointment until the day prior to it. I check my schedule every morning when I wake to see what I have for the current day and what is coming tomorrow. That way I know if I have an appointment and if I have to adjust myself according to time. I removed the week long anxiety roller coaster by doing this and brought it down to a 24 hour period instead. Honestly, I know I could be much calmer if time would just never be an issue for me. So we learn to adjust and find ways to make life more livable where we can. Many people feel that a schedule is the best way to a happy life, but I do not agree. For me, a schedule means my life is run by time. I do the best when time has nothing to do with my life.

Children play in the here and now! We loose that as we get older and are taught that we must live according to time. When you were a child, you did not know you had to go to the doctor until your mother was taking you. When you felt hungry, you would tell your mother and get something to eat. Every single thing was in the here and now. We are taught to look past everything that is right here in front of us and focus on what is about to happen or occur. I want to be like I was as a child. I want my life to be completely about the here and now. So, right now, I feel like laying down and that is exactly what I am going to do!

Any possitive comments are welcome.

