Describing my Pain…

I am going to describe the pain I am feeling right now. The bones in my lower spine, tailbone, hips and into the top half of my legs feel like an ice cream headache? Do you know what I mean? When you eat ice cream really fast and you get a brain freeze! This is what the pain feels like to me and it feels like it is in my bones. Then down into my left knee there is a throbbing and stabbing sharp hot pain. My lower leg has a bit of the ice cream headache pain in it on the outer side, then my feet hurt so bad in the ball area of each foot, but I cannot feel my toes at all. The ball area is throbbing in hot sharp pain that worsens when I stand up or walk. Also, there is a throbbing hard pain that is deep and stabbing in the bones that emerge from my buttocks region, as well as into the sides of my hips, right where the legs meet the hips. My entire neck feels like it is in a vice grip and the left side is being crushed much more than the right. My medication usually takes a bit of the severe edge off of this pain and leaves me with a bit duller, yet very much like, the original pain. Lately, there is no edge taken off until at least my second or third dose of medication. Needless to say, I feel I am going mad with the never ending sharpness of this pain. I am irritable as I could possibly be. Suddenly, everything annoys me! And yet, I also feel deeply depressed.

That is the best I can do with a description of this pain. Only 16 more days until I see the doctor again and hopefully he will offer something that will give me more relief than what I have right now. Which is barely any relief at all. The pain is so great, that I cannot seem to find a single thing for me to do, in order to occupy my mind away from it. I just plain Hate everything right now….

3 thoughts on “Describing my Pain…

  1. joynpain2 says:

    It is really difficult to describe chronic pain, but I think you did a great job. Just try to remember that the pain might knock us down, but it won’t kill us. You are so much stronger than the others around you and they have no idea. Stay strong! I hope you get some relief soon!

  2. Megan S says:

    Great descriptions! I constantly struggle to explain my pain and other symptoms but I think you’ve done a wonderful job here. I hope the doctor is able to help you when you see them!

  3. dawnhosking says:

    That is a very good way of describing the pain and yours is so very similar to mine — it is horrid when it sets in. Sending hugs and hope that your doctor can prescribe something to ease the pain for you x

Any possitive comments are welcome.

